Herman the German Friendship Cake

Someone gave me a Herman. Nothing dodgy… it’s a sourdough mix which you ‘feed’ and stir over 10 days before using the mix to make a cake. You actually make a cake with just a ¼ of the mix and give the other ¾ to 3 friends for them to make their own Hermans. It’s the noughties answer to a chain letter!

When I first received Herman I wasn’t all too sure to be honest. He was exploding out of the Tupperware and they’d be a bit of leakage! Was this really going to end up a scrummy cake? And how much effort was this going to be?

True to my word I kept and fed my Herman with milk, sugar and flour and the end result was really moreish and although it took 10 days, it was minimal effort. I shared the cake with a group of friends who snaffled it in record time whilst referring to it as ‘love cake’!

You can read more about Herman on this website http://www.hermanthegermanfriendshipcake.com/

Herman the German Friendship Cake
Don’t worry if you haven’t received a Herman mix as you can make your own really easily. Click here for instructions on how to make the starter mix and also how to grow your mix once you have received or made it!

My Herman
I pimped my Herman slightly before baking. Here’s what I added:
– 200g Glace Cherries, halved (most delicious things EVER, why haven’t I used them before?!)
– Small handful of Hazlenuts
– 100g dark chocolate chips
– Small handful of Walnut halves

I also left the suggested apples out of the cake as I didn’t fancy them and I used Vanilla extract instead of essence. Finally, try and bake your Herman in a large cake tin. Since it’s such a moist mix Herman will take longer to cook in a deep tin.

Then simply share the love by passing Herman on!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Herman the German Friendship Cake

  1. This is a lovely idea. I’m going to start working on it and maybe gift what remains to a few friends to pass it around.

    Nice blog also. Cheers mate! :)

  2. You’re welcome! It’s a great way to win friends for sure. And thanks very much!

Leave a Reply

