Tabouleh

I’ve seen Tabouleh on a lot of menus, but I’ve never made it. I don’t think I’ve ever tried it. I felt like I had to do something about this. I’m weird like that. So here is how I went about making it.

Tabouleh is a Middle Eastern grain salad and making it is really an assembly job. Anyone can do it. Apart from Mr B who can’t chop/use a knife. But besides him, anyone!

I served it as a starter (the main was a Middle Eastern lamb burger. Recipe online here if interested) but Tabouleh also works well as a buffet or lunch dish.

Making Tabouleh also seems to be a serious stuff. There’s a World Record for the largest that weighed in at 4,324 kg (9,532 lb 12 oz). Before that the previous record was held for a 2,559 kg (5,641 lb 6 oz) dish. My recipe here will feed just 6. I’m hoping that will be sufficient for most people!

Tabouleh
Serves 6

Ingredients
– 200g bulgur wheat
– 6 spring onions, finely chopped
– 6 tomatoes, diced
– ½ cucumber peeled, deseeded and diced
– 2 bunches of flat leaf parsley, chopped very finely
– 2 bunches of mint, chopped very finely
– 8 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
– Juice of a lemon
– Salt
– Freshly ground black pepper

To serve:
– Mini pitta breads, warmed through

Method
1. Put the bulgur wheat in a bowl and cover with boiling water from the kettle. Cover the bowl with a plate and leave for 30 minutes.

2. Chop all of the vegetables and herbs and place in a bowl. When the bulgur wheat is ready drain it and squeeze it a little to get rid of any excess water. Add it to the vegetables.

3. Give everything a good mix before adding the olive oil and lemon juice. Taste the Tabouleh and add more oil or lemon juice depending on your preference. All that’s left to do now is to give everything a really good season and a final taste.

4. Tabouleh is served cold so just pop this in the fridge until you’re ready to serve. Simples!

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Tabouleh

  1. I know what you mean about Tabouleh being on a lot of menus – it seems to have become the new cous cous and its just everywhere now. I had the same feeling that I had to try it out for myself a few months ago, but unfortunately I think I got a bit impatient and made it before the bulgar wheat had enough time to soften. Your recipe sounds lovely and I will have to try making Tabouleh again – I’ll just have to find something to do for that half hour of soaking time. Also, I have to say that your hand drawn banner is gorgeous

  2. I wasted 30 minutes on Facebook. I seem to loose all track of time on that site! I hope you like the recipe when you try it and thanks for your comment re the banner… though I didn’t draw it sadly!

  3. Michelle

    I have to say, it was delicious!! Thanks Danni xxx

  4. Thanks! Next time we won’t scoff all the mini pittas before having the Tabouleh!

Leave a Reply

