Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

This week I made lemon curd. It’s real easy to buy a jar of the stuff but it’s also easy to make it yourself. Use lemon curd to add some zing to your toast or in the recipes below. These little jars of sunshine also make great gifts… so go on, say it with lemon curd!

I became slightly addicted to lemons after a holiday to Sorrento, Italy, where lemons can be seen growing everywhere and some to the size of footballs! Naturally the lemons are used in the local specialities so I made my way through lots of ice cold lemon granita, plates of gooey, oozing grilled mozzarella and lemon leaves (my favourite), shots of alcoholic limoncello (my husband’s favourite!) and bowlfuls of lemon infused pasta and gnocchi. Every time I get a punchy hit of lemon now it sends me back to the pretty, sun-drenched and lemony town of Sorrento.

Lemon Curd
Makes 500ml

Ingredients
– 5 medium unwaxed lemons (Waitrose ones are particularly good)
– 5 eggs (4 eggs plus 1 egg yolk)
– 250g caser sugar
– 125g unsalted butter

If you plan to store your lemon curd for later use, sterilize your jam jars by putting them onto an oven tray lined with baking paper and into a 180° oven (Gas Mark 4) for 20 minutes. Carefully remove with oven gloves and cool.

Method
1. Zest and juice the lemons being careful not to grate the bitter pith of the lemon (or your fingers for that matter!).


2. You need to cook the ingredients in a bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. The bottom of the bowl shouldn’t touch the water so find a suitable saucepan and bowl (big enough to fit all of the ingredients into). Weigh out the sugar and the butter and put into the bowl. Put the saucepan filled with some water on a medium heat.

3. Add the lemon zest and juice to the sugar and the butter. When the water starts simmering in the saucepan, put your bowl over the top and slowly mix everything with a wooden spoon or a whisk until the butter melts.

4. While the butter is melting, crack the eggs and the extra yolk into a jug. Whisk lightly. When the butter has melted, slowly add the eggs to the other ingredients, stirring slowly whilst you add them.

5. Now just keep the bowl over the pan, stirring occasionally for 10-12 minutes. Take off of the heat and allow it to cool. As it does so, it will thicken so don’t worry too much if it seems quite liquid still after 10 minutes. When it’s fully cooled, decant into your jam jars. I then decorated my jam jar lids by taking a pair of scissors to a Selfridges bag!

The curd will keep in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. Let me know if it lasts that long!

Ways with curd

Lemon Cupcakes

Make up a batch of lemon cupcakes. Use an apple corer to hollow out some sponge and fill the gap with your lemon curd. A little ooze of lemon curd in a cupcake – Mmmmm. I used a Hummingbird Bakery lemon cupcake recipe.

Michelle’s Lemony Dessert

My friend Michelle taught me this lovely little lemony dessert. So easy but very yummy. Fold together equal amounts of lemon curd and natural yoghurt (I used Total 0% brand). Lightly mix the curd with the yoghurt so that you have ribbons of curd running through the yoghurt. Spoon into tumblers and top with raspberries (I found some yellow raspberries in my local supermarket). Chill for a couple of hours before serving. You’ll need around 150g of curd and 150g yoghurt per person.

5 Comments

Filed under Recipes

5 responses to “Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

  1. Oh wow, that curd looks delicious. I simply adore the colour of lemon curd! Yum.

  2. Thank you! I can confirm that it tasted delicious as well!

  3. Michelle

    OMG I got a mention!! Feel like a celeb!! Thanks Danni and I look forward to tasting your yummy lemon cakes (my favourite)!! xxx

  4. Michelle

    PS This dessert is sooo simple and really delicious!

  5. Just making sure you’re still reading it!!

Leave a Reply

